Twas Memorial Day Weekend…

Twas Memorial Day weekend and all was calm. All was quiet and all was relaxed.

Honestly, it was! And first, I understand Memorial Day is about so much more than relaxing and I am thankful for having people sacrifice their lives for our country. But as a busy, stressed out, trying to figure out life woman, it was nice to have a few days off.

My guy and I spent Saturday in Capitola, CA. What a lovely little beach town! It is super cute, very family-friendly, and doesn’t have as many tourists as Southern California beach towns.

We found a great Mexican restaurant called Taqueria Agave, where I had some of the best chile verde and carne asada I have ever had. It looks small, but it’s a hidden gem that all the locals seem to love.

Then we headed closer to the water for some drinks. Margartiaville was the place of choice and… I sorta regretted it. Though we only got drinks, the place was pretty janky, our waitress was barely attentive, and though you got a nice view of some water and the cute hotel villas across the way, it was filled with garbage.

It was nice to have a drink, but we left once we finished our drinks–which was hella quick.

image

Him and Her drinks at Margaritaville in Capitola. At least the drinks were decent…

We did a bit of walking around their pier, close to the beach, and by the cliff side. It was lovely! After that, we left and headed toward the South Bay, where we had some of the best sushi ever– Gokaku: Japanese Tapas and Sushi.

A few quick things about this place:
1) Do not be deceived by it’s quiet, unflattering exterior. It is busy with locals inside and is quite a cute little sushi place.

2) ZIG ZAG ROLL! Order it there and you will thank me later

3) The servers are absolutely the nicest! They told us their recommendations, their most popular dishes, and were very attentive.

4) A lot of what they serve is fusion food done well, as well as Japanese street food–which was cool to learn and try!

5) Zig Zag Roll!!!!!!  Soooo Goooodd!

I highly recommend people try this place. It was a really great experience, a little pricey, but worth it. Did I mention the Zig Zag roll?

Sunday, I celebrated my friends birthday with her at Homeroom and some other friends. It’s in Oakland, it’s the best thing ever, great great great mac and cheese. If you’re in the area, just stop what you’re doing and go to this place. Everything on the menu is amazing, including their greens and dessert.  It’s just… this amazing…  I can’t even… IT’S SO GOOD!

Below is their cookbook, which I will get one day! I mean, I have my own mac and cheese recipe, but it’s always good to have a reference–especially something that is this glorious.

Homeroom Cookbook. I will get my hands on this!!

Monday I just sat around. A relaxing weekend with good company, good food, and exciting places. Travel and food really go together. Now I just need to visit more places that have food and music combined and I’d be set!

Categories: Food, Travel | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

